Posted by: anitanolan | February 9, 2012

New Agents at the Bent Agency

From the Bent Agency Website:

MOLLY KER HAWN

My time in the children’s publishing industry has been varied, including editorial roles at Chronicle Books and Dial Books for Young Readers, early social media development for a major teen magazine, and serving as National Programs Director at the Children’s Book Council, the trade association of American children’s book publishers. I’ve also been a bookseller, and I’m a past board member of the United States Board on Books for Young People.

I’m looking for young adult and middlegrade fiction that’s inventive, well-crafted, and rich with emotion, whether contemporary, historical, fantasy, sf, thriller, romance, or mystery. My favorite books have characters I wish I could talk to in worlds I wish I could visit, and I love stories that grab hold of me and keep me up reading long into the night.

I live in London and I work with authors and publishers both in the U.K. and the U.S. I’ve bounced back and forth from America to England since I was a teenager: I grew up in Northern California, lived for a time in the West Country, read English at Cambridge University, spent many years in New York City, and now live a stone’s throw from the River Thames.

NICOLE STEEN

I have always loved working with writers, having come to a career in book publishing after working with playwrights in the field of dramaturgy. Discovering new voices is a thrill—there is nothing like being the first person to discover a great, new unpublished manuscript and helping it reach its full potential.

Before joining the Bent Agency, I worked at Trident Media Group and Elyse Cheney Literary Associates as a Literary Agent and Foreign Rights Director. I have represented a wide range of New York Times bestselling authors in both foreign and domestic markets. Some authors I’ve represented abroad include Marilynne Robinson, Michael Ondaatje, Joshua Foer, Russell Banks, John Perkins, Jon Stewart, Deepak Chopra, Louis Sachar, Jane Urquhart, Janet Evanovich, Elizabeth George and Karen Robards.

I am particularly moved by stories that transport me to another time and place, with strong characters and emotional themes—and I have a soft spot for books featuring children or animals. My interests include literary fiction, well-written commercial fiction, young adult fiction, narrative nonfiction, memoir, current events, history, popular science and psychology books.

Leave a Reply

Categories

