Posted by: anitanolan | December 12, 2010

Anyone Purchased a Kindle for a Child?

My son wants a Kindle for Christmas (he really wants an iPad, but I am unwilling to pay $25/month for the 3-G service–we don’t have Wi-Fi in our house–yet–and don’t plan to get it until our router/modem die.) So my question is, has anyone gotten their pre-teen (mine happens to be nearing 12) a Kindle, and if so, did they use it?

Are there plenty of MG books available?

Was it abused? Was it able to withstand the abuse?

Did they stop using it after a few weeks? ( this is not the end of the world, as my husband and I would be happy to take it over.)

I love “real” books, but I’m willing to do just about anything to encourage a reluctant reader. I would like to hear from others before I pay the money.

Responses

  1. I am like you, I LOVE books. I am now thinking about purchasing an eReader. I wouldn’t buy an iPad for my child either.. just to expensive. But if you purchase a kindle you can try different ways to get your child to read more. My mom would have us pick out a book of our choosing to read and then we would have to explain the book to her after we finished reading it. Of course she read the book as well so we couldn’t cheat. But it helped me begin to read alot more. So if you do purchase it.. maybe it could be something you both share together. But I would still watch what my child was doing with it… we were all kids once lol.

  2. I have a 2 yr old and a 5 yr old boy who use my Nook e-reader all the time. It’s been dropped, thrown, sat upon and generally loved and abused. I’d recommend a screen protector, but other than that, it’s very durable and kid friendly.

    I’m annoyed enough with Amazon, that I didn’t buy the Kindle, but I imagine they’d be comparable durability wise.

    I’m not a 12 year old boy, but I do enjoy MG fiction, and have no problem finding plenty of it in our library’s e-book section.

  3. Hi Anita. This is just my opinion… I always thought that Kindles and the like are worth purchasing if one reads a lot.

    I know that if I bought one for my son he would use it for a week or two, and then go back to his computer games. He reads, but not enough to justify the expense of a Kindle.

    (Teenage boy are a tough lot.)

    But if you and your husband took it over then I suppose it would be worth it, eh?

    Barb

  4. Thanks for the comments. I have to admit, the main attractions to me are that it might make reading a little more appealing to him for a bit, and that once he’s done with it my husband and I can take it over. Our son loves gadgets, but I don’t think the Kindle will hold its appeal for him long. I’d love an iPad, but just can’t justify the expense and then the 3-G monthly expense on top of it.

    So this seems like a good compromise.

  5. You can always use the library’s wi-fi to download books!


Leave a Reply

Categories

