Posted by: anitanolan | September 7, 2010

The Writer’s Bible

I’ve always looked to Strunk & White when I’ve had a grammar problem. It’s the book my boss suggested when I first went to work at a food industry trade journal years ago. I’ve since purchased Webster’s New World English Grammar Handbook, but I still go to Strunk & White first.

I recently saw this article in Author Magazine online about The Gregg Reference Manual, which, Cherie Tucker, the author, says is a good choice if you aren’t a grammar nerd. She says it’s very user friendly.

I don’t know if I’m a grammar nerd, but I think I’ll heck out the Gregg book when I’m at the bookstore.

Here’s a link to the Author Magazine article: The Writer’s Bible

Responses

  1. Anita, another good book to have on hand (bought it when I took a B&N University free course–I REALLY miss BNU) is:

    The New Well-Tempered Sentence by Karen Elizabeth Gordon

    • Thanks for the info, Donna.

      anita


Leave a Reply

Categories

