Posted by: anitanolan | August 16, 2010

Whew! I Did It!

It took a little longer than I’d hoped, but I’m at last done with the first draft of my MG Humorous Mystery.

Now, to revise. I feel like writing the first draft is like pulling my heart out through my throat, but I love revising. I’ve developed an organized method of revising. I teach revision workshops based on this method, (most recently at the NJ SCBWI conference in June, and at the PennWriters Conference in May) and I wrote an article about my revising technique for Sprouts.

Cheryl Klein mentioned this article on her blog a couple of years ago, saying “It is the best list of practical writing and rewriting tips I have seen in a very long time, or possibly ever.” High praise from an amazing editor. (Here’s a link to Cheryl’s blog.)

So, I’ll be using these techniques as I revise. I’m looking forward to it.

You can read the article on my website here.

Responses

  1. Anita, congratulations on reaching the end of your first draft!

    And thanks for those revision notes. I’ve bookmarked them for when I finish MY first draft!

    • Thanks! I hope the revision info helps. Once I thought that up, it really helped my writing.

      anita

  2. Oh, congrats, Anita! What a feeling of accomplishment, huh? And I still have the handout from your workshop at the conference. Great stuff, Anita 🙂 Thanks and enjoy rewriting. I love revision too!
    Donna

    • Thanks Donna!

      anita


Leave a Reply

Categories

